WARNING! WARNING! #thehazardtheory

Have you ever driven through fog?

Perhaps you have broken down on the side of the road?

Maybe you have used the hazard lights in your car?

Then PLEASE have a read of this…

It was a lovely winter morning with the sun just peaking through the clouds onto another average Tuesday. I was on my way to work and as per usual at about 7am in the morning there was some fog. But today it was not just any old fog. It was THICK fog.

It’s good practise when driving in fog to turn on your hazard lights, so that people can at least see something of your car before they decide to just run right into you.

This morning (on more than one occasion) I saw a car try to change lanes whilst it still had its hazard lights blinking. “That’s a bit arrogant” I thought “They didn’t even put their turn signal on before they changed lanes”.

And then it happened….

Two cars (both with their hazard lights flashing) attempted to merge into the same middle lane. One car from the right. One from the left. In the fog neither of them seemed to see each other! At the last minute they both pulled back into their original lanes. Phew, that was close…

When I arrived at work there was something I had to check. With the car still running I turned on my hazard lights, and then my right turn signal. I got out of the car and with great alarm saw that my hazard lights were still flashing!!! Perhaps both of those cars this morning thought they were indicating to change lanes, but the hazard lights overrode the turn signal?!?! This is not good…

Over the next week I did this same test on as many cars I could get my hands on. And had some alarming results. Over 75% of the cars tested saw the hazard lights overriding the turn signals.

So this is where I need your help. Please shoot a video using the following steps:

  1. Get into your car
  2. Turn the ignition to the ON position, or better still have the car running
  3. Turn on your hazard lights
  4. Turn on your right turn signal
  5. Get out of the car and check what lights you’ve got flashing

After you’ve shot the video share it with us:

Then stay tuned for the results…

Like what you’ve just read? Hanging out for more?
Well it’s your lucky day. By simply liking out page on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/technologyandtransport/ you can stay up
to date with the blog (or youTube videos) and be notified when there is more great content for you to read (or watch).

Leave a Reply

